by senditrising




Experiencing an accident with an uninsured driver can feel overwhelming and distressing. You are hurt, scared, and angry. How will you pay for your medical bills and other costs? You can’t get any money from the other driver’s insurance because they don’t have any. However, there’s still hope and options available to you. You still have ways to get the money you deserve after a crash. 

Our Nevada uninsured car lawyer at Moss Berg Injury Law can help you. Our lawyers are on your side. We understand what you are going through. We know how to deal with these types of accidents and find every possible source of money for you. 

How to Protect Your Rights After an Accident with an Uninsured or Underinsured Driver


Here are some things you should do after an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver:

  • See a doctor as soon as possible: Don’t delay getting medical help after a car accident. You need to check and treat your injuries. This will help you get better faster and prevent any problems. It will also help you show your losses later.
  • Do what your doctor says: Don’t skip or change your doctor’s instructions without talking to them first. This could hurt your health and your case. If you don’t do what your doctor says, the insurance company may say that you are not hurt or that you made your injuries worse.
  • Save all your papers and receipts: To get the full money you deserve, you need to show how much the accident cost you. This includes your medical bills, your lost income, and any other costs related to the accident. Save all your papers and receipts in a safe place. You will need them to back up your claim.
    Nevada Auto Insurance Requirements 

In Nevada, having auto insurance is not just a recommendation; it’s a legal requirement for all drivers. The minimum insurance coverages mandated by law include:

  • $20,000 to pay for the other person’s car or property if you cause an accident 
  • $25,000 to pay for one person’s injuries or death if you cause an accident or $50,000 for more than one person 
  • $25,000 to pay for your own injuries or death if the other driver has no or not enough insurance (this is optional, but a good idea) 

These are just the baseline requirements. Opting for higher coverage limits is a wise decision, especially considering the potential costs of serious accidents. Though it may increase your premiums now, it can significantly reduce your financial burden in the event of a major accident.

What Can I Get If I Make an Uninsured Driver Claim in Nevada?


If you have optional insurance for uninsured or underinsured drivers, you can make a claim with your own insurance company if you are in an accident with a driver who has no or not enough insurance. This can help you pay for the damage that the other driver should have paid for. In Nevada, you can get money for money-related and non-money-related losses from your uninsured or underinsured driver insurance. These include: 

  • Medical bills
  • Recovery
  • Physical therapy
  • Nursing care
  • Lost income 
  • Less money you can make in the future 
  • Pain and suffering 
  • Emotional stress 
  • Scars 
  • Loss of love and companionship
  • Less enjoyment of life

Your insurance for property damage can also help you pay for fixing or replacing your car and other things that were damaged in the accident.

How Long Do I Have to File a Claim After a Car Accident in Nevada?

In Nevada, the statute of limitations for filing a car accident claim is two years from the accident date. This time frame applies to both injury and property damage claims. Acting swiftly is crucial, as delays can jeopardize your ability to receive compensation.

What Is the Difference Between No Insurance and Not Enough Insurance Coverage?


No insurance coverage helps you when the other driver has no insurance. Not enough insurance coverage helps when the other driver has some insurance but not enough to pay for all your damage. 

For example, let’s say you are in a crash with a driver with the least insurance of $25,000 for one person. But your medical bills are $50,000. In this case, you can use your insufficient insurance coverage to pay for the rest. If the other driver had no insurance, you would use your no-insurance coverage instead. 

Both kinds of coverage are not required in Nevada, but they can be very helpful in case of a crash with a no insurance or not enough insurance driver. If you don’t have them, you might have to pay for your damage yourself. That’s why it’s smart to talk to your insurance agent and see what kind of coverage you have and what you might need.

How do I file a claim for Uninsured Motorist benefits in Nevada?

If you are in a car crash in Nevada, you must tell the insurance company that you have been in an accident. You also need to tell the state about any accidents that cause damage to property, injury, or death. After telling them about your accident, you can make a claim for no insurance benefits. 

First, you must show that another driver caused your Las Vegas car crash. This usually means showing that another driver was at fault. Fault means that another driver did not drive carefully and hurt you. Driving while distracted, drunk, fast, or too close are all ways of driving badly. You need to put all this information in your claim and explain your injuries and pain because of the crash in your letter.  

Contact a Nevada Uninsured motorist Attorney Right Now


At Moss Berg Injury Law Attorneys, we know how scary it can be to get hurt in a car crash, especially if the other driver had no or not enough insurance. Our Nevada Uninsured motorist lawyer have the skills and experience to get you the money you deserve for your injuries, no matter how tough the case seems to be. You can trust us to work hard to ensure you get paid fairly for your losses. We can start working on your case right now. Contact us today for a free consultation.