by admin

Share

Share

The Risks of Cannabis Use and Driving

In Las Vegas and throughout the state of Nevada, marijuana is legal to use recreationally as long as the individual using it is at least 21 years old. However, driving while under the influence is still illegal and can result in a marijuana DUI charge. It’s important to understand this crime and the penalties it carries.

What Is a Marijuana DUI?

Nevada has its own set of DUI laws and defines a person as being under the influence in certain situations. In addition to alcohol, it’s possible for a driver to be under the influence of marijuana if :

• The driver is impaired and unable to safely operate the vehicle.
• The driver’s blood includes 2 nanograms per milliliter of marijuana or 5 nanograms per milliliter of marijuana metabolite.

Even if a person is arrested and charged with a cannabis DUI, it may be difficult for Las Vegas injury attorneys to prove. In some cases, the charge can be reduced to reckless driving. However, a person who uses recreational marijuana and gets a DUI conviction can have that conviction on his or her record for seven years.

What Are the Penalties for DUIs Related to Marijuana?

If a person is convicted of a marijuana-related DUI, there are certain penalties he or she can expect. They include:

• Two days to up to six months of jail or 24 to 96 hours of community service
• Mandatory attendance at DUI classes concerning marijuana
• Fines ranging from $400 to $1,000 in addition to court costs
• A required appearance on the Nevada Victim Impact Panel
• The suspension of one’s driver’s license for 90 days but the ability to get a restricted license after 45 days

Car accidents are always scary and stressful situations. If you have been injured after an accident with a driver who was using recreational marijuana, you have the right to take action by filing a personal injury claim.