Nevada Dog Bite Laws Explained
The state of Nevada does not have a specific statute regarding dog bites. However, if you suffer an injury after a dog attacks you, the owner can be held liable for your bite injury.
Civil Liability for Dog Owners
Per the laws in Nevada, if you are bitten by a dog and sustain injuries as a result, you can file a personal injury claim with Las Vegas injury attorneys if the following situations are in place:
• As per Nevada’s one bite rule, the dog has already bitten someone in the past
• The dog has already been established by Animal Control as being dangerous or vicious
• The dog’s owner behaved negligently
• The dog’s owner was in violation regarding ownership of the animal
Damages That Can Be Recovered
If a dog or its owner fit under any of the above-mentioned categories after you have suffered injuries following a bite, you are legally able to recover compensation for any damages you incur as a result. Those damages include the following:
• Medical bills
• Lost wages
• Pain and suffering
• Punitive damages
• Wrongful death if the dog attack resulted in the death of someone close to you
Statute of Limitations for Lawsuits
Nevada has a statute of limitations for filing a personal injury claim resulting from a dog attack or bite. This is the amount of time you have to file your claim with the court. In Las Vegas and Nevada, in general, the statute of limitations is two years from the date of the injury. If you don’t file within that time frame, the court will not hear your case and your claim will be thrown out.
Modified Comparative Fault Rule
It’s important to know about the state’s modified comparative fault rule. If the person injured by the dog is found to be partially at fault for their injury, specifically, less than 50 percent responsible, the amount of compensation they are seeking for damages is reduced by that percentage. For example, if a person was bitten by a dog after teasing or taunting the pet, but the owner failed to leash the dog while on the street, the victim might be found to be 20 percent at fault. As a result, if they were seeking $10,000 in damages, they would receive 20 percent less, which would amount to $8,000.